Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

“I Have To Tell You About The Future”

Doctor Emmett Brown said that, “No man should know too much about his own destiny”, so I am not going that far. But here’s my thoughts on next week:

It is exam season, so that means that the Scottish summer will come. Teenagers around the country will attempt to “study outside” which will involve them rigging up intricate wind-breaks and sun-shades to protect their notes and keep their lap-top screens in shadow.  This will take all day to perfect. The sun will then go away. They will then be in their gardens chittering defiantly and persevering with the “study” which will consist of tweeting their friends to see how their garden-study strategies are going.

The SNP have done well in the election yesterday, so that will lead to a circular and vacuous argument and discussion on the news. People will say that, although many in Scotland clearly want the SNP in charge –  because they are articulate, intelligent and have passion for Scotland – they do not want independence, because, well, it’s a terrible idea.

This then defeats the purpose of the SNP who exist because they want Scotland to be independent. So the SNP will become stuck in a Catch-22, but will not disappear in a puff of logic. Team Scotland will forge ahead towards an ever-receding referendum.

As for me, I hope to run the Glasgow Women’s 10k on Sunday. So next week I will be hirpling about, feeling like a de-boned roast chicken. I am the least fit I have been in preparation for the 10k, but nevertheless I predict I will slash my pitiful personal best by about ten minutes. I will overcome my worries about going so fast I’ll be forced to stop and stoat off into the undergrowth to pass out. I have managed to run all the way twice before. I will use this knowledge to boost my running-esteem.

That’s how I think next week will go, all things being equal.

But I am not into predictions, really:

James 4:13-16

13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” 16 As it is, you boast in your arrogant schemes. All such boasting is evil.

So I guess we’ll see.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on ““I Have To Tell You About The Future”

  1. Good for you with the running! Good luck, I know you’ll do awesome.

    • Thanks. I’ve done the race twice before with the aim of “not stopping”. Tomorrow I hope to try going a bit faster and see if that makes me stop, or go faster.
      But I am older and heavier now, so we shall see.

  2. Denise on said:

    Loved this post – the study strategies, the sensible comments re SNP and………… good luck with the run tomorrow.

  3. Pingback: Running Commentary « Wee Scoops

  4. Eleanor on said:

    Liked this a lot! The de-boned chicken is a great image!

    Had to smile too as I well remember studying in the sun when less was always achieved than expected. Took me years to get over the guilt of not sudying in the April/May good weather once I was working and had no exams to sit.

    Finally, good translation – is it The Message? I should just take a trip into the other room and check….

    Well done on the running.

Leave a Reply

