Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Feathered *F*R*I*E*N*D*S*

A blue-tit enjoying an ASDA fat-ball

My wild pets feed on seed.
I’m washing up, watching
My own garden soap:

Rose-stained robins
Hop on matchstick legs,
Heads bobbing to feed.

With bandits’ eye-masks,
Blue-tits peck and pinch,
With seeds in their beaks
They get away.

The chaffinch pulls rank:
Tail chevrons prove he is
Pretty in plum.

A fleeting cameo from the blackbird.
Heads twitch and turn in his wake.

Meanwhile…
The villain of the piece enters:
Sooty, from Number 4.

Wee paws cause a pause –
A flurry and flutter.
They scatter-
In a plume of parting.

Actors in disarray.
Winging it.

20110418-044227.jpg

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Feathered *F*R*I*E*N*D*S*

  1. How precious! Birds are so much fun to watch!

  2. perfect springtime poetry, our birds are starting to come back, I’ll be listening for the sing-song and think of your poem.

    • I’ve never fed the birds until now – but I am refusing to get pets – so I’m trying to make up for that for the children by taking more of an interest in our wildlife.

  3. Pingback: Three Hundred Wee Scoops « Wee Scoops

Leave a Reply

