Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Frost’s Forks and the Future

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveller…

I think that I realised I was an adult when I acknowledged that I had chosen various paths and that other, possibly equal roads shot off at a tangents each and every time.

Despite being a big believer in life-long-learning and change and choice – when you combine your decisions with the passage of time, you realise that every past fork in the road has repercussions stretching to the present and beyond.

It is possible to live in denial, and to spend your life missing out on the bit you are currently living, by trying to rework or recapture a part of the past that is… past. This necessarily denies the present its right to be lived to the full.

It frustrates me when young people spend their lives preparing for the future instead of valuing their present as a valid state – they want to be things, achieve things, do things – all of which they seem to have pencilled in to a vague future – which may or may not be granted to them. I wish that they – and all other people would be all they can be in the present that they actually have, rather than in a possibly hypothetical future.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood,

and I, I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

I feel that for once I sound pessimistic – but I have no regrets.  I like  – love, even, decisions and choices – with out these we are not free.  Freedom to choose and determine our course is priceless – and has been paid for by our history.

Every choice makes all the difference – so make them good ones!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Frost’s Forks and the Future

  1. I totally agree with you! 🙂

  2. Hello! I did like this. Frost is one of my favorites–so glad he became famous although he used rhyme. So prefer it over blank verse, as he did.
    I tend to live in the past, rather than the future. Decorate with days-gone-by style, as an expression of memories, and keep scrapbooks. A lot of things pass away, but memories cling…

    • I love memories also – and more-so as I realise that what I thought were general memories of an era, were in fact specific memories of people and events, fixed in time.
      But as you’ve blogged before, you have not stuck with the past, when the present has provided new ways to work as an educator.
      Recording the past is vital – I love the way the internet archives everything. It has a much better filing system than the pile of papers on my diningroom table!

Leave a Reply

