Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Postaday 2011: Bus Poem

With a spit and hiss
The bus comes down to my level.
Omnibus, omnivore:
All aboard!

Correct change checked.
A fist of silver swallowed
In a sudden snap.

I take my ticket,
Take my seat,
Take a load from off my feet.

Grime blurs
Stops with starts.
Off often,
Or on.

As the crow flies,
I’d be there already.
The bus criss-crosses
Willy-nilly, willy-nilly.

Foraging through villages,
Snacking in the suburbs
Urging the urbanites aboard-

All
Today’s Jonahs,
In the belly of the bus.

Fare’s fair
we’re there.
Disgorged
In another place.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Postaday 2011: Bus Poem

  1. Cool poem! 😀

  2. I LOVE IT!

    And I have to assume you mean it to be read aloud, so…

    Do you intend the “t” in “often” to be pronounced?

    Thanks for this darling addition to the world of poetry!

  3. I don’t pronounce the t myself.
    Thanks for the comments! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Three Hundred Wee Scoops « Wee Scoops

Leave a Reply

