Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Postaday 2011: My Muses – Time and Company

Daily Post Prompt

If I am going to be creative I need to clear the decks. I need to have a tidy house with clean lines and surfaces. The ideas are never the problem – it’s the practicalities.

First of all I allocate tasks to time-slots and stick to them. If I don’t timetable things in, they don’t happen. They end up on the moribund to-do list of guilt. Which is lengthy.

For a big project I always appoint a right-hand-woman. This is a friend who will come and talk to me as I work, think and plan. Having someone come round helps me to keep the time-slot and the task more clearly defined. I prefer to work with company.

When I used to paint, I went to a class – just to ensure that I gave myself that time. I really enjoyed it – but going out to too many things like this kind of clashed with motherhood.

When I once tried the NaNoWriMo – I met the quota on the first night – then the builders knocked through the back of the house so we moved out for six weeks and I was so harassed that was as far as that novel got.

For music, I need to be elsewhere to rehearse with others. As I’ve said before – I don’t listen to music – but I like to play. If I have the time to play and friends to play with I love it.

Blogging is a funny one though – it is a solitary activity on one level – but with a real sense of audience and community on another. There is the sense the kind of company I value.

I really enjoy reading what people have to say and love the fact that there are people out there who like ideas and challenges and words – as much as I do.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Postaday 2011: My Muses – Time and Company

  1. I’m happy to be your audience, company and muse. Keep it up!

  2. Wow. I love the way people are different! How many are His works! In wisdom, He has made us all.

  3. Jackie Paulson 1966 on said:

    “I really enjoy reading what people have to say and love the fact that there are people out there who like ideas and challenges and words – as much as I do.”
    You said is so perfectly. I love clean lines, and to organize and clean. Your posts are perfect your page is set wonderfully and I love to read what you write.

Leave a Reply

