Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Postaday 2011: Silence is Golden – Mute the Cheery Music!

The cheeriest music is “Wake Up Boo” by the Boo Radleys and “Walking on Sunshine” by Katrina and the Waves.

But if I was down, would I search out these tracks?  Probably not.

I hardly ever listen to music. Whenever music is put off, it’s always a relief of sorts. If I am down, I want to talk, think, write or sleep. Not listen to music.

I shouldn’t be like this. I am pretty musical. I can play different instruments to a tolerable standard and I often play in public. I have played in orchestras, ceilidh bands and church bands. And I enjoy playing. I just don’t like listening.

And I never play my instruments to cheer myself up. I only ever play when people ask me to. People have wanted me to play at weddings and parties – and they are willing to PAY?… I have never done a paying gig. Too much responsibility to be good: we are startlingly mediocre at best.

Someone suggested that my stand-off with music is a phase – that because I have young children and a hectic life – that all I want is peace -so why would I want to fill silence with music?

They may have a point.

Maybe you’re the same? I wonder if you’ll listen to this:

If it wasn’t a relief to press pause on that, maybe you’re up for this too:

So… did anyone get this far?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Postaday 2011: Silence is Golden – Mute the Cheery Music!

  1. That song was the first one that popped up in my mind, as soon as I read the topic. Even though I wouldn’t listen to it if I were down.

    I hear you about paid gigs. I can fathom that. I don’t play any instruments anymore, but I do shoot photos. If anyone were to ask me to shoot, let’s say a wedding, I’d say no. I’d be too nervous.

    You’re in Scotland?! A country I’ve always wanted to visit. I’d love to see Glencoe … amongst others.

  2. Pingback: Postaday 2011: My Muses – Time and Company « Wee Scoops

Leave a Reply

