Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Inclined to Embonpoint

After all that, I have decided I should read “Peter Pan” – so I can acquaint myself with the “real” Tinker Bell.

The first few chapters are INSANE. Really! Have you ever read it?

I have just read the first three chapters and the children have been pretty much abducted by Peter Pan. I don’t like him so far – quite creepy –  with milk teeth that he “gnashed” at Mrs Darling.

When Tinker Bell  is first introduced it says:

It was a girl called Tinker Bell exquisitely gowned in a skeleton leaf , cut low and square, through which her figure could be seen to best advantage. She was slightly inclined to embonpoint.

“Embonpoint”? Random.

Apparently it means chubby, stout – “in good condition”. A fat fairy? Excellent.

The first three chapters are startling. The narration is bizarre and the point of view seems to be some kind of a weird zone constructed from within the nonsense that adults tell children for the sake of a quiet life.

I’ve never seen the movie, so I don’t know what’s going to happen. Just that Captain Hook is in it, and maybe a crocodile that swallows a clock?

I guess I’ll see. Enjoying it so far. :lol:

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Inclined to Embonpoint

  1. I so look forward to your impressions of Peter Pan. When you started with Tinkerbell, I had assumed that you were familiar with the story. Silly me, but like I said can’t wait to read your posts.

  2. You really don’t know the story of Peter Pan? Bizarre. Remember whilst reading that it was originally wirtten as a *play* and the play is absolutely fantastic (if they redo at the Citizens one year you must take your brood)..

  3. Actually, the book you are reading came first, followed shortly after by the play, also written by J.M. Barrie. The play’s script is practically word-for-word from the book (in dialogue, at least), but the book has the added benefit of the childlike narrator.

    When you’ve finished the book, you can watch the play, filmed from the stage, on Netflix. It’s available to stream directly to your computer, and it’s the first result to turn up when you search “Peter Pan”. And it’s wonderful.

    • Thanks Stephen – I’ve still got about half of the book to read.
      Someone else also suggested that after the novel I should read “The Children’s Book”by A.S. Byatt.

      I still don’t like Peter Pan the character…

      • Well, that’s cuz he isn’t very likable, is he? :)

        Peter’s character I would compare to Sherlock Holmes, in that Sherlock Holmes isn’t really a likable fellow either, but the reader begins to like him because the story is told through the eyes of Watson, and Watson adores him.

        Likewise, I think you will begin to find Peter likable simply because Wendy, Tinkerbell, and even Tiger Lily adore him.

        Another thing to note is that his character is quite different in later iterations of the story. He is much less insufferable in the stage version. And he’s downright likable in Disney’s 1953 animated version, as well as Spielberg’s unofficial sequel, Hook (1991).

        These are all worth watching.

    • Thanks for the Sherlock idea – That’s my other planned holiday reading because of this:

      http://weescoops.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/whats-been-reading-me-out-of-house-and-holmes/

  4. Pingback: Finding Tinkerbell « Wee Scoops

  5. gretchen on said:

    Just to clarify…when Barrie describes Tinker Bell as “slightly inclined to embonpoint” he didn’t mean fat. “Embonpoint” really means “voluptuous” more than “chubby” or “stout”. In other words, Tink had big boobs!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 435 other followers

